� navigation
todays
yesterdays
profile
talk to me
write me notes
Where are you
design
diaryland

� moments just passed
Good Bye Non Descript - 2007-01-04
Where - 2006-09-27
Clarity - 2006-03-22
a short description - 2005-09-25
The after-sleep - 2005-08-14



moon phases
 
When in doubt battle the storm
written @ 3:08 a.m. on 2003-08-13

I do not know how insightful or deep this entry will be, so I hope you will forgive me if it is not worth the wait it has been since my last real entry.

I have been busy, going to events, planning events, working on projects.

The days go by and the summer draws to an end. Yet, I enjoy every minute of it, even the suffocating humidity.

Still in love with light, I went out yesterday in a beautiful rain storm.

As I was leaving someone stopped me and told me I should not go out, that it was too rainy, that it was dangerous, that I should just stay home and keep dry.

I looked at them...I looked outside and the rain was so thick, you could not even see a foot in front of you.

I thought about the warning, but I was hungry and I wanted some sushi, and running through the torrents of rain did not bother me in fact it seemed very appealing.

I didn't even grab a rain coat, I really didn't care. So, they said, "its dangerous to drive in this, you could have an accident."

A year ago, I would have listened to this, fear probably would have gotten the better of me, and really, a year ago I would have just stayed in and watched the beautiful rain fall. Waiting for a clear moment to go out- but, this isn't a year ago, and my current philosophy of living life, did not match up with the idea of letting fear of a potential car accident stop me.

So, I ran past and said "its just rain" and enjoyed the water as it fell around me. I jumped into the car and as I did through the pouring rain a patch of light appeared through the arch of trees that lay ahead of me in the street, and the rain kept falling as heavily as ever, and I thought to myself that I hoped it wouldn't stop raining. It was so perfect...

It didn't stop. The rain continued to pour down furiously and the light battled its way through the clouds and lit up the street in front of me. It was stunning.

I happened to have my camera in the car and I took a picture. It was amazing.

I pulled out of my parking spot and made my way down the street through the light, and just as I got to the corner, I realized there must be a rainbow somewhere. I looked around everywhere.

The sun was shining out from behind the steeple of an old church...but no rainbow.

I turned the corner heading away from the sun, somewhat disappointed that I hadnt seen a rainbow, when I suddenly remembered that rainbows appear opposite the sun, I turned another corner, now facing the direction of the potential rainbow, rain still pouring madly on my windshield and I searched the dark clouds for signs of color, and sure enough there it was! An enormous rainbow stretching across the freeway -beautiful and clear, even through the rain.

I pulled over frantically (quite unsafely actually) because I had my camera, and I thought if I could just get a picture that would be phenominal. I set myself up, a few cars honking, and click...I got the shot!

My point: If you don't put yourself in a rainstorm, you may never see the rainbows.

Something to remember.

~v.

a minute, an hour, a day ago || or there is always later